Every order secures the future of opera and ballet


Your Basket is Empty

Sign in

Viscera / Carmen Blu-ray (The Royal Ballet)

A four-production programme Viscera / Carmen Blu-ray (The Royal Ballet) features dynamic choreography from Jerome Robbins, George Balanchine, Liam Scarlett and Carlos Acosta. 

Viscera opens the night with Scarlett's invigorating production and is followed by Afternoon of a Faun by Robbin to Debussy's music. Bringing in contrasting vigor, Balanchine showcases his neoclassical taste with Tchaikovsky Pas de deux and the programme is brought to its dramatic culmination with Carmen danced by Acosta in his farewell performance with The Royal Ballet.

See our full collection of ballet Blu-rays and DVDs

Liam Scarlett
Music: Lowell Liebermann 
Dancers: Laura Morera / Marianela Nuñez / Ryoichi Hirano

 Carlos Acosta
Music: Georges Bizet (arrangement by Martin Yates)
Dancers:  Marianela Nuñez / Carlos Acosta / Federico Bonelli / Matthew Golding

Afternoon of a Faun
Jerome Robbins 
Music: Claude Debussy
Dancers: Sarah Lamb / Vadim Muntagirov

Tchaikovsky Pas de deux
George Balanchine 
Music:Pyotr Il’yich Tchaikovsky
Dancers: Iana Salenko / Steven McRae

Orchestra of the Royal Opera House
Conductors: Emmanuel Plasson / Martin Yates (Carmen)

Plus: Carlos Acosta in conversation with Darcey Bussell / Acosta's farewell curtain call and speech / Introductions to Viscera and Carmen

Picture: 16:9 1080p
Format: NTSC
Region code: All regions
Sound format: 2.0 LPCM / 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio
Running time: 118 minutes
Year: 2015