Every order secures the future of opera and ballet


Your Basket is Empty

Sign in

Verdi: The Shakespeare Operas Blu-ray Set

Verdi's The Shakespeare Operas DVD Set features 3 performances from the crowning Royal Opera House, Liceu and Glyndebourne. These marking productions bring together vibrant casts of singers, conductors and directors who come together in Macbeth, Otello and Falstaff. Macbeth was the work that inspired the young composter in his hard-working 'galley years' and led him to the peak and culmination of universal success. Otello and Falstaff were Verdi's final two operatic masterpieces.

Simon Keenlyside and Liudmyla Monastyrska as Thane and his Lady lead Phyllida Lloyd's expansive production of the Scottish Play for The Royal Opera, conducted by Sir Antonio Pappano. Reimagined by José Cura and stunningly staged by Willy Decker at Barcelona's Liceu, Otello is a truly exhilirating experience. Richard Jones showcases humour and bitterness in Falstaff at the Glyndebourne Festival with Christopher Purves in the title role and Vladimir Jurowski conducting.  

See our full collection of opera Blu-rays and DVDs

MACBETH (Royal Opera House)
Macbeth: Simon Keenlyside
Lady Macbeth: Liudmyla Monastyrska
Banquo: Raymond Aceto
Duncan: Ian Lindsay
Malcolm: Steven Ebel
Macduff: Dimitri Pittas
Orchestra of the Royal Opera House
Royal Opera Chorus
Conductor: Antonio Pappano
Director: Phyllida Lloyd

OTELLO (Liceu)
Otello: José Cura
Desdemona: Krassimira Stoyanova
Iago: Lado Ataneli
Emilia: Ketevan Kemoklidze
Cassio: Vittorio Grigolo
Roderigo: Vincenç Esteve
Madrid Symphony Orchestra and Chorus of the Grand Teatre del Liceu
Conductor: Antoni Ros-Marbà
Director: Willy Decker

FALSTAFF (Glyndebourne)
Christopher Purves
Ford: Tassis Christoyannis
Fenton: Bülent Bezdüz
Doctor Caius: Peter Hoare
Bardoph: Alasdair Elliott
Pistol: Paolo Battaglia
Alice Ford: Dina Kuznetsova
Nannetta: Adriana Kučerová
Glyndebourne Chorus
London Philharmonic Orchestra
Conductor: Vladimir Jurowski
Director: Richard Jones

Sound format: 2.0LPCM + 5.1(5.0) DTS
Subtitles: EN/FR/DE/ES/ IT (all titles), CATALA (Otello), JAPANESE (Macbeth)
Running time: 170 mins (Macbeth, 23 mins (Bonus); 151 mins (Otello); 136 mins (Falstaff)