Every order secures the future of opera and ballet


Your Basket is Empty

Sign in

Janáček: Jenufa DVD (Royal Opera) 2021

Award-winning director Claus Guth’s acclaimed production of Jenůfa is a striking representation of an oppressed society ‘infused with heart-warming humanity’ Evening Standard

Two courageous women struggle for fulfilment against the backdrop of a claustrophobic rural community. With music inspired by the traditional folk melodies of his native Moravia, Janáček’s score movingly captures Jenůfa’s progression from hope to despair to eventual radiant happiness, while her stepmother, the Kostelnička, is one of opera’s most complex maternal figures.
Hungarian conductor Henrik Nánási conducts Asmik Grigorian in her muchanticipated Royal Opera House debut in the title role, alongside Karita Mattila as the Kostelnička and a star cast.

See our full collection of opera DVDs and Blu-rays

Jenůfa: Asmik Grigorian
Kostelnička Buryjovka: Karita Mattila
Laca Klemeň: Nicky Spence
Števa Buryja: Saimir Pirgu
Grandmother Buryjovka: Elena Zilio
Foreman: David Stout
Mayor: Jeremy White
Mayor’s Wife: Helene Schneiderman
Karolka: Jacquelyn Stucker
Herdswoman: Angela Simkin
Barena: April Koyejo-Audiger
Jano: Yaritza Véliz

Royal Opera Chorus
Orchestra of the Royal Opera House
Conductor: Henrik Nánási
Concert Master: Vasko Vassilev
Director: Claus Guth
Set Designer: Michael Levine
Costume Designer: Gesine Völlm
Lighting Designer: James Farncombe
Choreographer: Teresa Rotemberg

Extras: Elle Osili-Wood and Claus Guth introduce Jenufa; Cast gallery

Sound: LPCM 2.0 + Dolby Digital 5.1
Subtitles: EN, FR, DE, JP, KO
Format: NTSC / DVD
Running Time: 139 mins