Every order secures the future of opera and ballet


Your Basket is Empty

Sign in
Sold out

Handel DVD Set (Glyndebourne)

Notify me when this product is available:

This set compiles three of Handel's iconic works for the stage, presented in luxurious Glyndebourne productions with period-instrumental accompaniment from the acclaimed Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment.

David McVicar directs an all-star cast in Giulio Cesare, combining serious insight with entertainment to bring the masterpiece to life, aided by vivid playing from the OAE under William Christie. In Robert Carsen’s fun-filled transformation of Rinaldo, lacrosse sticks and flying bicycles lend the fantasy’s warriors and witches contemporary chic, with conductor Ottavio Dantone leading a youthful cast from the keyboard in Handelian fashion. Director Barrie Kosky’s Glyndebourne debut, Saul stole the 2015 Festival season and had critics raving. The Glyndebourne chorus plays an outstanding role, and the OAE sparkles under Ivor Bolton, as the Old Testament story is retold in Handel’s time with witty anachronisms from costume designer Katrin Lea Tag.

See our full collection of opera DVDs and Blu-ray

Composer:George Frideric Handel

Giulio Cesare (2005)
Giulio Cesare: Sarah Connolly
Sesto: Angelika Kirchschlager
Cleopatra: Danielle De Niese
Cornelia: Patricia Bardon
Achilla: Christopher Maltman 
Conductor: William Christie
Director: David McVicar
Designer: Robert Jones 

Rinaldo (2011)
Rinaldo: Sonia Prina
Almirena: Anett Fritsch
Argante: Luca Pisaroni
Armida: Brenda Rae
Conductor: Ottavio Dantone
Director: Robert Carsen
Designer: Gideon Davey

Saul (2016)
Saul: Christopher Purves
David: Iestyn Davies
Merab: Lucy Crowe
Michal: Sophie Bevan
Jonathan: Paul Appleby
High Priest: Benjamin Hulett
Witch of Endor: John Graham-Hall
Conductor: Ivor Bolton
Director: Barrie Kosky
Designer: Katrin Lea Tag

TV Directors: Robin Lough (Giulio Cesare); Francois Roussillon (Rinaldo, Saul)
The Glyndebourne Chorus 
Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment  

Picture: 16:9
Sound: 2.0LPCM + 5.1(5.0) DTS (Giulio Cesare)
Sound: 2.0 Dolby Digital + 5.1(5.0) DTS (Rinaldo/Saul)
Format: NTSC
Region code: 0 (worldwide)
Running time: 232+79 mins (Giulio Cesare) 190+24 mins (Rinaldo) 185+10 mins (Saul)
Subtitles: EN/FR/DE (+ SP/IT Guilio Cesare) (+ KO Saul)