Every order secures the future of opera and ballet


Your Basket is Empty

Sign in

Ashton Celebration DVD (The Royal Ballet)

Ashton Celebration DVD honours Frederick Ashton, Founder Choreographer of The Royal Ballet. One of the 20th century’s most influential choreographers, whose musical, subtle and graceful style and extraordinary gift for storytelling had a profound impact on the development of British ballet. This special programme, performed at the Royal Opera House to mark the 25th anniversary of Ashton’s death, presents five works that showcase his astonishing versatility, from compelling abstract ballets – such as the exuberant Voices of Spring and the radically modernist Monotones – to the tragic love story Marguerite and Armand, brought to life with ‘performances of heart-wrenching intensity’ (The Observer) by Tamara Rojo and Sergei Polunin.

See our full collection of ballet DVDs and Blu-rays

La Valse
Music: Maurice Ravel
Dancers: Hikaru Kobayashi, Ryoichi Hirano, Samantha Raine, Bennet Gartside, Helen Crawford, Brian Maloney,  Artist of the Royal Ballet.

Méditation from Thaïs
Music: Jules Massenet
Solo Violin: Vasko Vassilev
Dancers: Leanne Benjamin, Valeri Hristov 

Voices of Spring
Music: Johann Strauss II
Dancers: Yuhui Choe, Alexander Campbell 

Monotones I and II
Music: Erik Satie
Dancers: Emma Maguire, Akane Takada, Dawid Trzensimiech, Nehemiah Kish, Edward Watson, Marianela Núñez

Marguerite and Armand
Music: Franz Liszt
Solo Piano: Robert Clark
Dancers: Tamara Rojo, Christopher Saunders, Sergei Polunin, Gary Avis, Artist of the Royal Ballet. 

Bonus: Introduction to Frederick Ashton / Introduction to the ballets / The Ashton Foundation.

Picture: 16:9
Sound:  2.0 PCM Stereo / 5.1 Dolby Digital
Fomat: NTSC
Region code: 0 (All Regions)
Duration: 84+15 min