Every order secures the future of opera and ballet


Your Basket is Empty

Sign in

Verdi DVD Set (The Royal Opera)

This trio of unforgettable Royal Opera productions feature some of the most cherished and admired examples of Verdi’s operatic genius. The composer returned to his early masterpiece Macbeth after the great successes Il trovatore and La traviata had propelled him to universal fame, and his 1865 revision – today the most popular version of the work – shares the marks of dramatic and musical innovation that enshrine all three operas as undying classics. Phyllida Lloyd stages Verdi’s setting of the Scottish play, featuring Simon Keenlyside’s athletic, brooding Thane opposite Liudmyla Monastyrska’s imperious Lady. Rivalry blazes between José Cura’s troubadour and Dmitri Hvorostovsky’s Count in an Elijah Moshinsky production with sets by noted film designer Dante Ferretti. Starring as the illfated courtesan Violetta in Richard Eyre’s classic production is Renée Fleming, loved by Joseph Calleja as Alfredo against the wishes of his unyielding father, played by Thomas Hampson. Verdi’s best-loved works brought vividly to life.

See our full collection of opera DVDs and Blu-rays

Composer: Giuseppe Verdi

Il trovatore (2002)
Manrico: José Cura
Luna: Dmitri Hvorostovsky
Azucena: Yvonne Naef
Leonora: Verónica Vilarroel
Ferrando: Tómas Tómasson
Ines: Gweneth-Ann Jeffers
Royal Opera Chorus
Orchestra of the Royal Opera House
Conductor: Carlo Rizzi 
Director: Elijah Moshinsky
Sets: Dante Ferretti
Costumes: Anne Tilby

La traviata (2009)
Violetta Valéry: Renée Fleming
Alfredo Germont: Joseph Calleja
Giorgio Germont: Thomas Hampson
Annina: Sarah Pring
Flora Bervoix: Monika-Evelin Liiv
Baron Douphol: Eddie Wade
Royal Opera Chorus
Orchestra of the Royal Opera House
Director: Richard Eyre
Conductor: Antonio Pappano
Designs: Bob Crowley
Lighting Design: Jean Kalman
Movement: Jane Gibson 

Macbeth (2011)
Macbeth: Simon Keenlyside
Lady Macbeth: Liudmyla Monastyrska
Banquo: Raymond Aceto
Lady-in-Waiting: Elisabeth Meister
Servant to Macbeth: Nigel Cliffe
Duncan: Ian Lindsay
Malcolm: Steven Ebel
Macduff: Dimitri Pittas
Royal Opera Chorus
Orchestra of the Royal Opera House
Director: Phyllida Lloyd
Conductor: Antonio Pappano
Designs: Anthony Ward
Lighting Design: Paule Constable

Picture: 16:9
Sound: 2.0LPCM + 5.1 DTS
Format: NTSC
Region code: 0 (worldwide)
Running Time: 519 mins
Year: 2002/2009/2011