Every order secures the future of opera and ballet


Your Basket is Empty

Sign in

Mayerling Blu-ray 2018 (The Royal Ballet)

Mayerling is based on the true story of the deaths of Crown Prince Rudolf and his teenage mistress Vetsera in 1889 and is regarded among many as Kenneth MacMillan’s finest work. The large-scale crowd and court scenes show the whole Company off at its dramatic finest – but it is MacMillan’s choreography for Rudolf (Steven MacRae), one of the most technically and emotionally demanding roles in the repertory for male dancers, that makes this ballet so iconic. Rudolf’s emotional decline is charted through daring and visceral pas de deux with his mother (Kristen McNally), his wife (Meaghan Grace Hinkis) and Mary Vetsera (Sarah Lamb) – choreography that pushes classical ballet to its limits.

See our full collection of ballet Blu-rays and DVDs

Crown Prince Rudolf: Steven McRae
Baroness Mary Vetsera: Sarah Lamb
Countess Marie Larisch: Laura Morera
Empress Elisabeth: Kristen McNally
Princess Stephanie: Meaghan Grace Hinkis
Artists of the Royal Ballet

Orchestra of the Royal Opera House
Conductor: Koen Kessels
Composer: Franz Liszt
Arranged and orchestrated: John Lanchbery
Choreography: Kenneth MacMillan
Designs: Nicholas Georgiadias

Plus: An Introduction; Darcey Bussell talks to ballet coach Leanne Benjamin; Steven McRae discusses his return from injury

Picture: 16:9
Sound: PCM 2.0 / DTS 5.1 Master Audio
Format: Blu-ray
Region code: All Regions

Duration: 133+11 mins


"Prince Rudolf, played by the faultless Steven McRae, has some of the most demanding choreography in the ballet. McRae, however, lands each jump, finishes every pirouette, and completes the many lifts with absolute precision. It's fair to say he steals the show.
" The Londonist

"Sarah Lamb was a revelation... in her big moments as Mary everything was totally instinctive and seductive, and Lamb was totally believable in the recklessness of her passion." Seen and Heard International

"Nicholas Georgiadis’s brooding designs perfectly convey the claustrophobia and stifling protocol of the Austrian court, the orchestra under Koen Kessels give a plangent account of the Liszt score, and the company act up a storm." The Observer