Every order secures the future of opera and ballet


Your Basket is Empty

Sign in
Sold out

Ashton: Les Patineurs / Divertissements / Scènes de ballet DVD (The Royal Ballet)

Notify me when this product is available:

Founder Choreographer of The Royal Ballet, Frederick Ashton created more than a hundred ballets over a 60-year career. Enjoy Ashton's Les Patineurs, Divertissements and Scènes de ballet on DVD in the comfort of your home.

Showcasing some of his shorter works, this disc reflects the breadth of his sophisticated, elegant and widely popular style. Les Patineurs evokes the Edwardian skating rink, with all its youthful charm and humour, in contrast to Scènes de ballet, in which sharp geometric shapes and the music of Igor Stravinsky are combined to create one of Ashton's most modernist works. Divertissements from a eight Ashton ballets feature some of his most lyrical choreography, including pas de deux set to Romantic masterpieces by Tchaikovsky and Massenet.

See our full collection of ballet DVDs and Blu-rays

Les Patineurs
Music: Giacomo Meyerbeer
Dancers: Laura Morera, Samantha Raine, Steven McRae, Sarah Lamb, Rupert Pennefather, Christina Arestis, Francesca Filpi, Ryoichi Hirano, Kenta Kura, Liam Scarlett, Andrej Uspenski
Orchestra of the Royal Opera House
Conductor: Paul Murphy

Tchaikovsky, Awakening as de deux from The Sleeping Beauty (1968) – dancers Darcey Bussell and Jonathan Cope
Massenet, ‘Méditation’ from Thaïs (1971) – dancers Mara Galeazzi and Thiago Soares
Paganini, Devil’s Holiday variation (1939) – dancer Viacheslav Samodurov
Brahms, Five Brahms Waltzes in the Manner of Isadora Duncan (1975) – dancer Tamara Rojo
J Strauss, Voices of Spring (1977) – dancers Leanne Benjamin and Carlos Acosta
Tommasini after Paganini, Devil’s Holiday pas de deux (1939) – dancers Laura Morera and Ricardo Cervera
Orchestra of the Royal Opera House
Conductor: Barry Wordsworth

Scènes de ballet
Music: Igor Stravinsky
Dancers: Miyako Yoshida, Ivan Putrov, Edward Watson, Lauren Cuthbertson
Orchestra of the Royal Opera House
Conductor: Barry Wordsworth

Plus: Interviews with dancers from Les Patineurs

Sound: LPCM 2.0 / DTS 5.1(5.0)
Format: NTSC
Region code: 0 (worldwide)
Duration: 96 mins
Subtitles: EN/FR/DE/ES